W. DAVID SASSER, Motor License Agent #6018

Frequently Asked Motor Vehicle Questions

  

  1. I just moved to Oklahoma and need to register my vehicle(s) here. What do I need and where do I go?

  2. How do I obtain a copy of a lost title?

  3. How long does it take to receive a personalized tag?

  4. How do I order a special plate and what are my choices?

  5. My mother passed away and left me her car. How do I change the title over to me?

  6. I just bought a new truck. How do I figure what I will owe for tag, title and tax?

  7. What happens if I pay my tag late? Is there any penalty?

  8. There is lien shown on my car title that I have paid off. How do I get it removed?

  9. Can I claim a portion of my car tag as an itemized deduction on my Federal Schedule A?

10. I haven't received my renewal notice and my tag is up for renewal. What do I do?

11. I'm in the military. How do I receive the special military vehicle registration rate?

12. I wish to purchase a vehicle, but the owner does not have a certificate of title and wants to give me only a bill of sale. Will that be sufficient for me to title and register the vehicle in my name?

13. I just titled a vehicle in my name and the excise tax was based on a “taxable value” amount that was different from the price I paid for the vehicle – Why?


1. I just moved to Oklahoma and need to register my vehicle(s) here. What do I need and where do I go?


You may apply for Oklahoma vehicle title and registration at any tag agency location. Application should be made within thirty (30) days of establishing residency. Please refer to the Original Oklahoma Titles information for an outline of what is needed to apply for a title. Essentially, you will need evidence of ownership – either your out of state title or registration, as well as proof of Oklahoma - compliant liability insurance coverage (applicable to motor vehicles, only). Used vehicles entering from another state must be physically inspected by the registering tag agency, to verify the vehicle identification number (VIN) and odometer reading. Please note: If you do not have a negotiable out of state title to surrender to the tag agency, but have other acceptable proof of ownership (i.e. a registration certificate), and/or if the vehicle is not available for the above referenced inspection at time of applying for an Oklahoma title, the vehicle may be registered, with the Oklahoma title placed on hold. That title hold will remain in effect and no Oklahoma title certificate will be generated and issued until 1) a negotiable out of state title is surrendered to Oklahoma and 2) the referenced inspection is completed by an Oklahoma tag agency. Please refer to Original Oklahoma Titles Placed on Hold, for more detailed information. General titling and registration information may be found in the Motor Vehicle Information section of this site. If clarification or additional information is needed, please feel free to contact the Motor Vehicle Division at (in state toll free telephone) 1-800-522-8165, extension 13221, or (direct telephone) 405-521-3221, otcmaster@tax.ok.gov , or any Oklahoma Tag Agency.


2. How do I obtain a copy of a lost title?


Simply complete an Application for Duplicate Title(Form 701-7) and mail or deliver to any Oklahoma tag agency. The Application is available for dowloading from the Motor Vehicle Forms section of this website, or may be obtained from any tag agency.

The duplicate title fee is $11.00 + $1.50 mail fee (if applicable). Either current Oklahoma registration, or proof of the record owner’s out of state residency, is required.


3. How long does it take to receive a personalized tag?


Please allow up to 4 months for personalized plates to be manufactured and returned to the purchaser. Non-personalized special plates normally take 6 weeks to process and return.


4. How do I order a special plate and what are my choices?


Special plate applications, outlining ordering procedures and qualifying criteria (if applicable), are available for downloading from the Motor Vehicle Forms section of this web site. Most completed applications and payment may be submitted to any tag agency. Special plate designs are available for viewing on this web site and are also displayed in a wall chart posted at most tag agencies.


5. My mother passed away and left me her car. How do I change the title over to me?


If the vehicle (identified by V.I.N.) was left to you in the deceased’s will, the will must first be probated (unless the value of the estate was under $20,000.00. In that event, contact a tag agent or the Motor Vehicle Division for assistance) before any action will be allowed. Once probated, you may present the letters testamentary issued by the court and awarding you the vehicle, along with a copy of the deceased’s death certificate, to any tag agency to transfer ownership of the vehicle into your name.

If the deceased left no will and you are entitled to the vehicle (no other party has a superior claim), you may obtain and complete appropriate title transfer documentation at any tag agency. In addition to these documents, you will be required to provide a copy of the deceased’s death certificate.


6. I just bought a new truck. How do I figure what I will owe for tag, title and tax?


Vehicle excise tax and registration fee computations are outlined in the Motor Vehicle Information section of this site and may be used as a general guideline of the amounts that will be due. To arrive at a specific amount, you may contact the Motor Vehicle Division, or any tag agency, with the specific information (i.e. Vehicle Identification Number; Purchase Price & Date; Registration Classification, etc.) for Motor Vehicle Titling and Registration Fees.


7. What happens if I pay my tag late? Is there any penalty?


Delinquent registration penalties vary, depending upon the situation (i.e. new vehicle purchase; registration renewal; etc.) and vehicle registration classification (noncommercial; commercial; etc.). For newly purchased vehicles, penalties will apply on the thirty-first (31 st) day following ownership assignment. For renewal of existing registrations, penalties will normally apply one month following the registration expiration month. You may contact the Motor Vehicle Division, or any tag agency, for specific penalty applications.


8. There is lien shown on my car title that I have paid off. How do I get it removed?


Once filed, liens will remain reflected as active in the Motor Vehicle Division computer files until a properly executed lien release is surrendered. If you have a lien release you wish to submit, mail the lien release to:


Oklahoma Tax Commission

Motor Vehicle Liens

P.O. Box 269061

Oklahoma CIty, OK 73126


There is no fee to release a lien on our system.

However, if you wish a new title to be issued reflecting the lien is no longer active, take your lien release and title to any tag agency. A new title, without the lien listed, will be processed for a title fee of $11.00.


9. Can I claim a portion of my car tag as an itemized deduction on my Federal Schedule A?


No portion of the yearly fee you pay to register your car in Oklahoma is deductible as personal property tax. None of the fee is based on the car's value. Note: The Oklahoma motor vehicle excise tax you pay when you purchase a vehicle is deductible as part of the general sales tax. Taxpayers can claim general sales taxes instead of income taxes as an itemized deduction.


10. I haven't received my renewal notice and my tag is up for renewal. What do I do?


The renewal notice is not needed to renew your vehicle registration. You may renew at any tag agency by presenting the proper remittance and proof of insurance coverage, along with the tag, title or VIN number of your vehicle. Most vehicle registration types may also be renewed online, via the CARS registration renewal system.

Please note, you may choose the option of receiving emailed notifications of future vehicle registration expirations via the CARS online renewal system, or by notifying your tag agent at time of renewal.


11. I'm in the military. How do I receive the special military vehicle registration rate?


Active duty members of the US armed services who are either Oklahoma residents, or stationed in Oklahoma, are entitled to a reduced annual vehicle registration rate of $26.00, $1.50 insurance verification fee and possible $1.50 mail fee. (Note: When registering at a tag agency, the taxpayer has the option to wait or return later for the registration receipt. Mailing of the receipt is optional.) A completed U.S. Armed Forces Affidavit (Form 779), properly attested to by an officer, and proof of liability insurance, must be submitted. Any tag agency can process the registration.


12. I wish to purchase a vehicle, but the owner does not have a certificate of title and wants to give me only a bill of sale. Will that be sufficient for me to title and register the vehicle in my name?


No. To transfer ownership of a vehicle, a negotiable certificate of title, properly assigned to the new owner(s), is required.


13. I just titled a vehicle in my name and the excise tax was based on a “taxable value” amount that was different from the price I paid for the vehicle – Why?


Oklahoma law provides that vehicle excise tax is based on the purchase price of a vehicle, excluding any trade-in adjustment and provided the purchase price is within twenty percent (20%) of the average retail value for that model of vehicle. If the purchase price was not within 20% of the average, a taxable value is assigned equal to the nearest acceptable price within the value range for that model. In such situations, the taxable value may be higher or lower than the actual purchase price, depending upon whether the price presented exceeded the highest or lowest limits of acceptable value for that model vehicle. Please note, no taxable value adjustment is made for the condition (mileage, damage, etc.) of a particular vehicle.